Sunday, February 27, 2011

Cool Tapes

So yeah. I’ve been feeling much better lately. Been sleeping and baking and whatnot. I figured I’d do a post about some music I like just because I can and because music is awesome.
1. Bishop Allen. In particular, “Dimmer”, “Click, click, click”, and “Rain”
Dimmer
2. Vampire Weekend. I don’t know why the heck I haven’t listened to these guys sooner. Awesome. I especially like “Taxi Cab” and “Giving up the Gun”
3. Voxtrot. I don’t know many songs by them, but I do like “Raised by Wolves” and “The Start of Something”
The Start of Something
4. Mumford and Sons. I’ve only just started listening to them, but I love the high energy songs, and the banjo which you would think would suck, but makes the songs so awesome. I specifically like “Little Lion Man” and “The Cave”
The Cave
4. Jack Penate. Fun, upbeat songs. I like “Spit at Stars” and “Have I Been a Fool”
Spit at stars
5. Adele. I like her. She sings really great songs like “Rolling in the Deep” “Right as Rain” and “Tired”
6. Marching band. Try “For your Love” or “Gorgeous Behavior”
For your love
And now some random artists I like and know songs of but don’t know all that well.
-The Go! Team
-Asobi Sesku
-Lykke Li
-Matt & Kim
-Taken by Trees
-The Whitest Boy Alive
-Au Revior Simone
-The Blow
-The Pigeon Ditectives
-Santigold
-Say Hi (to Your Mom)
-The Shins
-Shout out Louds
-Sufjan Stevens
And that’s plenty. More than you needed. Ever. Anyway, You should at least listen to one of these artists or songs. They pretty much rock.

Friday, February 25, 2011

Down in the Dumps

I’ve been feeling kinda PMSy lately. Which is strange because I just had mine and march is my drop month. Anyway, I’ve just been kinda sighy, whiney, and self-pitying. Now don’t get me wrong, my life is great. I have the best friends, a great family, and my grades are pretty cooh. But somehow, even surrounded by amazing people, I’ve been feeling lonely. Maybe it’s the couples. It’s probably the couples. I’m really happy for them, really, I am. It’s just that me being the sorta clingy dependent jealous and slightly selfish person I am, I just feel left out and “forever alone” around them. I know they haven’t left or anything, but sometimes I feel like I’ve been left behind, and sometimes I don’t feel as close to those in relationships as I may have once. Maybe it’s a lack of girl time, maybe it’s just me being bitter, but it still kinda hurts. And then the whole thing decides to get a big stick and poke at that part of my subconscious that worries about my friends abandoning me and about me never getting a boyfriend and why boys don’t seem to like me, even though I know that none of this is true. And maybe as a result of all this, I’ve been feeling a bit detached from the main group, which is RIDICULOUS because I’ve been spending plenty of time with A and talking to lots of others. Maybe it’s just that I haven’t really spent lots of time with anyone other than A. With the play, and no one besides G and L sharing my frees, besides class time, I haven’t spent much time around anyone else. Yeah...that’s probably it.
I guess this blog is sort of a nice way to sort out my feelings and whatever.

Thursday, February 24, 2011

Test Post

I'm not sure if this is something I'm gonna do or not. I figured I'd give it a try since all the cool kids are doing it. I kinda feel like I'm late to the party, or like that kid who gets the trendy style months after it's cool.
Anyway, here’s my blog. I can’t promise regular updates, seeing as I really don’t have too much to rant about, and if I did, I feel like I’d rather keep it to myself...I’m pretty good at working things out in my head, even if it takes some time. What I will say is that I’m not gonna make up silly nicknames because I am horrible at names and would probably forget each and every one of them. Instead, I will just use first letters of names to make it still sorta private, but easy to understand. Besides, what’s the risk of someone other than my very closest friends reading this anyway?
As I mentioned earlier, I don’t have too much to rant about. I tend to stay out of the H drama for some reason, maybe because I can’t keep up, maybe because I don’t always get it, or maybe some other reason buried deep in my subconscious. Either way, I hope it doesn’t make me a bad friend, I love you just the same, I’m happy for you, but I don’t feel I should get involved. Oh...and can you guys maybe do that less? You know, the go off and chat and giggle about different people in code names...I see why, but it’s not always cool to do that around other people who I’ve seen get uncomfortable and feel really left out. I suppose I feel left out sometimes too, I’m not sure why since I’m pretty in the loop. Oh well. The point is, I’m sure you could maybe find some more private times to discuss such things...I don’t know. Sorry if I’m being harsh.
Some personal notes:
A-I love you, keep on rocking
Z-Don’t forget to smile and take deep breaths
H-I know I’m not supposed to get involved, but I say just go for it. All out. Just go.
T-Chill out. Don’t be so dramatic
R-Stay cool and rational and don’t freak out and don’t be so competitive.
And to all-Don’t forget to see the other side of the story and the silver lining of the cloud.