Wednesday, August 31, 2011

Everyone is a hipster

Well, not the city dwelling, arrogant, tattooed college student. I'm talking about the mentality of "liking things before they were cool," and becoming annoyed when suddenly everyone seems to like that thing that only they used to like. Everyone's done this at some point in their life, whether it was over a certain song, type of music or band, a style or type of fashion, or even a hobby/certain activity. I most recently felt this way when I heard a song I really liked on the radio, which should be a good thing, but in a way, I felt annoyed that a "good" song would be played with some of the crap out there today. Instead of enjoying a song that I liked, I jumped to the idea that I would like it less now that millions of people also knew it and would be singing it and playing it at parties. I guess the way I see it, is that the music I enjoy isn't generally well known, and I don't often encounter people with the same music tastes as me outside my group of friends. To be honest, my music taste isn't even that obscure, it's just different enough that not a lot of people are familiar with what I listen to. This can be annoying sometimes, like when I'm trying to talk to others about music, but we're on two different pages. Having a slightly different taste in music does gives me a sense that in a way, I am unique, special, my music is quirky and I'm the only one in the world who likes it, even though I know there are tons of people out there that listen to and enjoy the same stuff I do. I guess everyone gets that way though, everyone has that thing that they feel puts them apart from the public, makes them who they are, and when that thing, whatever it is, is spread among the masses, whether it becomes trendy or hits the music charts, instead of feeling happy that the things they love are becoming loved and shared by others, they feel like they're less special now, and the thing that used to make them unique, now just makes them another face in the crowd. It seems to me that hipsters have formed a culture out of this, trying to gather as much obscurity as possible, to make themselves as unique as they can. This sort of corrupts the point of having your own "thing" since their thing is really just finding of new, more obscure "things". In conclusion, not everyone is a hipster, hipsters just take what everything does, and tries to market it to be unique.

Alright, done trying to sound smart. See you all soon!

Wednesday, August 10, 2011

My life, as of now (faux philosophical)

I am currently messing around on the internet (Yay for reddit!) while a thunderstorms rages outside. It's that point in the summer where you're clinging to the last threads of summer as it slowly slips from your fingers. I'd much rather just have summer for the next few months instead of school. I mean, school has friends and some cool classes but there's work and actually doing stuff and I just want to sleep and waste time doing stuff I like. Then again, we are some of the lucky ones, we're still young, in the very beginning of our adulthood (Drivers ed in september!) and we're still figuring stuff out and learning how the world works. We have a huge amount of free time and for now anyway, the expectations put on us are nowhere near as bad as they will be. I've been thinking a lot about how great it is to be young, because I feel like that's not something people usually do until they're old. Of course, each part of life comes with great new experiences, but as we gain freedom and independence, we also gain responsibility. This is the time when we can do what we want with few(er) repercussions. We can screw stuff up and experiment without it having a major impact on our lives. We can have fun and still leech off of our parents. Also, no taxes! So yeah, college will be fun and being a grownup and having a family will be great, but I'm pretty content with the way things are right now, and I'm going to enjoy this part of my life and try not to be too sad to leave it.