Sunday, May 15, 2011

Project L

So yeah. People are leaving this year. It's pretty crappy. That's why I'm proposing project L. This will be a compilation of cards, gifts, and that kind of thing for both bros who are leaving. If all goes according to plan, this will also include an awesome going away party. I'd like to kick this project off with a giant card for Le I'm making that we will all sign and give to him at the end of the year. Here's the text I plan to put inside, please give me edits or things you'd like to add, seeing as this is meant to be a letter from all of us. 10 points if you can read it without crying (my current score is 0).


I’m sure you’ll admit that we have all had some pretty great times together. And I’m also sure you’ll agree that none of us want you to go. It makes it harder to know that you will be about a thousand miles away. It’s impossible to deny the fact that we’re all going to miss you like crazy and that things just won’t be the same without you and your music, your sketchy jokes, your crush on Jack, your leg wounds, and your general charm and likeability. But we’ve got to accept the fact that soon, you will no longer be an immediate part of our everyday lives, and that soon, you’re just not going to be around anymore. Change of any kind is hard, but it’s even harder when you lose people you care about. Like it or not though, it’s part of life. Change is inevitable. That’s why we need to suck it up and give you our support. We’d like to wish you the best in your travels. We hope you’ll face everything that comes your way with optimism and courage. We hope that wherever you go you’ll find adventure and friendship, and we hope that you will always have a place where you feel a sense of love and belonging. Above all, however, we hope that you always remember to keep in touch, and that you come back and visit from time to time. Losing a person as wonderful and incredible as you isn’t going to be easy for us, and I’m sure none of this is easy for you, so I just want you to know that we’ll always be here for support and encouragement whenever you need it, and we’ll all be here if you just need a good laugh. Lewis, I hope you’ll never forget us, because we sure as hell are never going to forget you. Thanks for all the memories, good and bad. Things around here aren’t going to be the same without you.
With love, (signatures here)

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Dear Bros of the Internet

Dear bros of the internet and irl,
It's me. Hi. I'm a girl. I use the internet. (It sure beats hanging out in the kitchen all the time) Heres something you might not want to hear. I know memes. This may be hard to understand, but using the internet as much as I do, (too much) it's kind of hard not too. And I'm not just talking about memebase or know your meme or whatever, I'm talking tumblr and reddit and all those other places where memes take shape. This means that I know memes pretty soon after they form and become popular. (maybe I even know them before you do) This being said, I would like to say PLEASE PLEASE PLEASE don't pretend like you own memes or the internet or the games you play. I realize knowing these things makes you seem cool, and when more people start knowing them, you seem less cool, but I have just as much right to use memes in my everyday life as you, or anyone else who has stumbled across the internet does. Please don't pretend like you invented or even introduced these memes, because you probably didn't. I don't mean to sound all high and mighty, or above you, because in the end we're all just losers who waste our time browsing the web for a laugh, so please don't pretend to be an internet wizard who is all knowing and always brings the lols that no one else is allowed to use because they are lame and are just repeating what you told them.
Love, me.

So yeah. That's my rant. I'm tired and bored and may end up regretting posting this. Just to make things clear, I don't actually feel that strongly about this or anyone I know, it's more of a based on a true story kinda thing.

Also, I have a confession to make. I am a brony. Well...a female brony. This is pretty hard to admit, but a brony is pretty much a bro who watches the kids show "my little pony: friendship is magic." Now, I know EXACTLY how this sounds, and that was my reaction when I first heard about the cult following of 20 year old men this show has gathered, but I watched one of the 22 minute videos that have been uploaded to youtube, and I instantly understood the hype. It's a cast of six incredibly well developed pony characters, a baby dragon, and a pegasus princess. The reason this show is amazing is because it's barely childish, and can truly be enjoyed by people older than age 8. It's funny and really adorably drawn and the stories are entertaining and surprisingly not very cheesy or kidish. It is a show that just makes you happy, because it's impossible to be sad or stressed or worried while watching it. If you don't believe me...here's another person describing the appeal, and a link to the first episode, which is not nececarily the best episode (For if you ever get really really really really bored.)
Post
Video